80 Years - A Journey Through Time

Heads and Governors


APS has had eight headmasters over the last 75 years:

Gaskell, P A.1936-1939. First Headmaster of APS, but called up to the forces in 1939
Hartington1939 - 1946. Mr Hartington was Headmaster through the Second World War
Mason, Edward1946 - 1966. Mr Mason was one of the original Board, and served in a dual capacity as Chairman and Headmaster from 1946-1966.
Thomson, John ReginaldSept 1966 - 1971. At his appointment, Mr Thomson stated he would serve five years before retirement, and he resigned in July 1971 for health reasons.
Leigh JSept 1971 - July 1975. Mr Leigh left APS to take up a Deputy Head post at Berwick on Tweed Senior School.
McCay, Ron JSept 1975 - 1997
Parris, Eileen VSept 1997 - July 2000
Potts, Andrew CSept 2000 - present

The Board of APS

APS retains strong family connections with the men involved in the creation of the company. Of the seven serving Directors, four are sons or grandsons of the original 1936 team, and there are two great grandsons currently pupils.

Hill, Andrew1995-present. Company Chairman. Grandson of Founder Governor
Hill, Arthur E1975-present. Company Vice Chairman. Former Chairman. Son of Founder Governor.
Furness, Michael1999-present. Company Secretary
Furness, William1936-present. Son of Founder Governor.
Nodding, Keith1981-present. Headmaster of Altrincham Grammar School (retired)
Geddes, John1982-present. Lawyer, solicitor (retired)
Hurst, Alan2012-present. APS Architect and now Director

There have been only five Chairmen since 1936: W Hamblin (1936-1944 approx), E Mason (1944 - 1976), A Hill (1976-1982), A E Hill (1982-2013) and A R Hill (2013-present).

There have been even fewer Company Secretaries, J Furness (1936-1981), W M Furness (1981 - 2010), M F Furness (2010-present).